Wednesday, 8 September 2010

The xx win the Mercury Music Prize with debut album

On the quality and depth of music it was a surprise that this year's prize went to The xx and not Mumford & Sons or Laura Marling. That said, I thought it would be Paul Weller's year but I would have not been dismayed if Dizzee Rascal took top spot. But the judges went with a new band and a début album.

The short list was:

Biffy Clyro 'Only Revolutions'
Villagers 'Becoming A Jackal'
Corinne Bailey Rae 'The Sea'
Mumford & Sons ‘Sigh No More’
Paul Weller 'Wake Up The Nation'
Wild Beasts 'Two Dancers'
Kit Downes Trio ‘Golden’
Laura Marling 'I Speak Because I Can'
Dizzee Rascal 'Tongue N’ Cheek'
Foals 'Total Life Forever'
I Am Kloot 'Sky At Night'
The xx 'xx'

No comments: